Skip to content

Self Reflection on MLK Day

January 18, 2010

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about the things that matter.
I feel the need to ask myself,

What is it, in the world today, that matters in which I have decided to remain silent on?  What have I chosen to stay ignorant to? What have I let taboo control in my life?

 

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or the darkness of destructive selfishness. Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, "What are you doing for others?"
I feel the need to ask myself,

What am I doing for others?

 

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole
staircase.

I feel the need to ask myself,

Where am I scared to make a move because I don’t see what’s ahead? What can I do TODAY that I have been putting off because I fear the unknown?

 

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
Hatred and bitterness can never cure the disease of fear; only love can do that.
Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it.
Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it.
Hatred darkens life; love illuminates it.

I feel the need to ask myself,

Who in my life have I failed to show love to?  Who have I forgotten is not only my equal, but more deserving of love than myself? Who can I pour gentle kindness and illuminating,
harmonizing, releasing, curing love to, today?

 

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
Everybody can be great. Because anybody can serve.
You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.
You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve.
You don’t have to know about Aristotle and Plato to serve …
You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.

I feel the need to ask myself,

Where can I serve?  What can I do today to start serving more? Who is in need? Who can I help? Where shall I go to start serving more? And why did my heart of servanthood stop? Why haven’t I taken time to aid others?

 

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
We must accept finite disappointment, but we must never lose infinite hope.
I feel the need to ask myself,

Where in my soul have I not only accepted finite disappointment, but allowed myself to depend on it? Where have I given up? What dreams have I lost? What desires have I
forgotten?  Where can I reinstate hope?

Because it is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and he once said;
The past is prophetic in that it asserts loudly that wars are poor
chisels for carving out peaceful tomorrows. One day we must come to see that peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek, but a means by which we arrive at that goal. We must pursue peaceful ends through peaceful means. How much longer must we play at deadly war games before we heed the plaintive pleas of the unnumbered dead and maimed of past wars?
I feel the need to ask myself,

Whom have I started my own personal wars with?  Which friends remain unforgiven?  Who in my past have I built walls against? Who have I been avoiding because it has been easier? Who can I extend a branch of peace towards?

 

 

Because just as New Years Eve is a time to reflect on change ahead, and just as Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on gratitude, MLK Days is a time to reflect on character, and standing up for what is right.  It’s about evaluating life, and your place in society. It’s a time to start doing more to make the world a better place; for others and for yourself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 5:40 pm

    Wonderful!! I need to remind myself to do things for others. My day always says to ‘lead a life of service’ – and he really does! I also need to learn to be more forgiving.

  2. abbynormally permalink
    January 18, 2010 6:10 pm

    These are wonderful thoughts! Too bad we can’t all have these thoughts… you’re a great example!

Leave a Reply

