Skip to content

Quizzes&Classes&Training- oh my!

January 8, 2010

It’s Quiz Time:

Question 1: Remember that time I said I was going to review some gyms in order to find the right fit for me?

A) yes
B) no
C) no, but I would like to read about it here.

[Answer 1: A or C acceptable 😉 ]

 

 

Question 2:  I had 4 gyms on the list to review. I made it to 2 of said gyms. So why did I stop my quest to find the perfect place to burn calories
and tone up?

A) I fell off the treadmill mid-jog and broke my left leg, leaving me
work-out free until March.
B) I decided that I am done taking steps towards healthy living, and
want to turn THS into a fan site for John Stamos.
C) I fell in gym-love during my 2nd work out of the trials and decided
to join, right then and there.

[Answer 2: although answer A is probable, given my clumsy nature, the
correct answer is C- TOTAL gym love.]

 

 

Question 3:  What was it about my new gym that left me all googley-eyed and butterfly filled, convincing me to sign on?

A) $20 a month with no start-up fee
B) a large variety of cardio machines, and many many of them.
C) a variety of classes offered, including some with punny names
D) two large strength training floors
E) I saw a foam roller
F) located 6 minutes from my apartment
G) all of the above

[Answer 3: G. all of the above.

There are more TYPES of cardio machines than I’ve ever seen in a gym. It’s a plethora of cardio-options. I tried to count yesterday as I was on the treadmill, but after I got to 12 my cool down automatically started, dropping my speed with out my noticing and I ran INTO the front of the treadmill.  Ahem.  There are at least a half dozen different ellipticals, 3 different types of stair climbers, two kinds of stationary bikes plus a spinning simulation video game looking type thing in which I am slightly fearful.

The list of different classes offered each week is 21. This doesn’t even include the spinning room- just the fitness room schedule.  Also, some of the classes are offered various times with different teachers, which in my opinion is basically a completely different kind of class.  One of the classes I’m most attracted to is titled "Willpower & Grace".  As a self-proclaimed Pop Culture Princess, you know I’ll be sticking my head in that window to see if I can find the namesake, or Jack or Karen or any jazz hands of any sorts.

The Strength training areas look fabulous. There is an area specifically for beginners, which I especially love, because no one wants to try out an exercise they just read about right next to Mr. Universe. I’m just saying.  Each of the two areas are set up for circuit training if that’s your thing, and they are FILLED with all types of equipment;  free weights, machines, body bars, resistance tools, cable machines, benches, medicine balls and I’m sure a bunch of stuff in which I have no idea what to do.]

 

 

Question 4: What does the gym offer that I am terrified to try?

A) Free endless Personal Training Sessions
B) the software The Biggest Loser uses to see you in 3D now, and your
goal 3D self.
C) a variety of classes, including some with punny names
D) Spinning classes
E) all of the above

[Answer 4: E. all of the above.

I can’t  decide how I feel about working with a Personal Trainer (or
the 3D technology they provide).   I think this may be something I need to
get over, though.

I have this thought that I can read/study/ask when I have questions/learn enough that I don’t need anyone "trained" to stand next to me and tell me what to do.  It’s weird because I would totally like to work out with my friend Trav in Texas, who is a PT- because I know I trust him and know that he would do an AMAZING job correcting me, encouraging me, and convincing me to do what needs to be done.  Same goes for Jessica of Fit Chick in the City, or Jessica of How Sweet It Is (trusting my blogger friends more than someone I can see in the flesh 3 times a week. Hmmm….) .  But some stranger at the gym?  Terrified.

I’ve been thinking about it and I can’t decide if it’s because I don’t TRUST the stranger, or I don’t trust myself to be able to do what the trainer wants of me.  Bench a certain weight, run a certain distance, hold a certain pose- I’m terrified of failing to someone else’s standards. When it comes to myself, if I say I’m going to run for 10 minutes, and I get tired, and I stop at 8- I’m not being judged by anyone.  I can just evaluate my workout myself and move on. But with a trainer I feel like I will be pushed.  I KNOW that this is a good thing – being pushed to my limits is probably what I need; but as I think it through, I think I may just be afraid of failing.  Of not being able to reach the limits someone else has for me.

This probably also explains my fear of ALL CLASSES; especially spinning
and yoga.  Even though just about everyone I know loves their
experiences spinning and practicing yoga, I still have been putting off
trying either.  But I’m truly just intimidated by classes in general, as well.  I tried going to two different classes at the Y last year, and I felt really anxious about both of them, which I know affected my experience.

I’m not a fan of "shaking in my boots".  2010 I’m facing fears! So what am I going to do about it?

I’m devoted to at least MEETING with a trainer.  When I first signed up
for the gym, they suggested I work with Carly who is a marathon runner,
since I have that little goal of running a race in all 50 states.  I
know that every small step leads somewhere, and my first step is to at
least sit down with the woman, be honest about my FEARS and goals, and see where that takes me. I’m also trying to keep Jess’s post in mind
about the matching of a PT and a client.  I will not be afraid to try
someone else if Carly and I need to break up.

And for the classes?
The fitness class schedule runs from January through March, so I’ve made
myself this promise: TRY EVERY CLASS AVAILABLE AT LEAST ONCE.  What this means: every class that is offered during my gym availabilities hours (when I’m not at my day job) I will attend at least one time.  I
realize that EVERY CLASS will not be for me- but I know that I don’t
always know what’s best for me either. (this would explain why EVERY
formal dress I bought for high school events I hated on the hanger but
my mother made me try on anyway.  Apparently, mothers really do know
best.)
  Hopefully, along the way I find that if I open up to some of
these classes, that I may find a few that I absolutely love and want to
continue attending.

I’m going to make sure that after I try Zumba with Dawn, I also try
Zumba with Judi, and Zumba with Laurie.  And although I don’t plan on
STARTING with Power or Vinyasa Yoga- hopefully by the last week in
March, I will have enough yoga beginner-appropriate classes under my
belt to be a bit more willing to give the intermediate classes a try.

This all boils down to the fact that I will be trying 17 fitness classes ( 5 strength, 4 aerobic/step, 4 yoga, 3 Zumba, and 1 ‘Just Abs’ which will no doubt help me to Whittle My Middle) and 9 spinning (4 Interval, 3 Endurance, 2 Strength & 2 Races. [Eek]).

A total of 26 classes before March 31- can it be done? You can bet your bippy I sure am going to work my bum off trying 😉
[I’ll be adding a "Class Challenge" tab with descriptions, my planned schedule, and notes along the way soon]

Question 5: The Short (or long) answer question:
I want to hear your opinions about working out with a personal trainer.
Have you done it?  Would you do it?  Warnings/Inspirations/Thoughts. Spill it:

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 6:38 pm

    love your class challenge idea! it definitely can be done–we’ll all be cheering you on girl! 🙂

    as for a personal trainer, when you sign up for gyms you usually get some free sessions. i’ve always taken advantage of these by meeting with a trainer and having them write out a plan for me that i can use a few days a week instead of paying consistently for one! hope this helps!

    happy friday!

  2. January 8, 2010 8:32 pm

    I love your class challenge. Just remember to work at your own pace and let the instructor know that you’re new to the class.

    I’m so happy that my post in some way is encouraging you to work with a trainer and to know that, if it doesn’t workout… try another trainer.

    If you have any specific questions about what your trainer says, please shoot me an email. Always happy to answer any training questions.

  3. January 8, 2010 9:58 pm

    I think you can do the classes! As for working with a trainer…being that I am one I have seen my share of good and bad. Make sure that they don’t push anything restrictive on you – including workouts AND food. For instance, I would stay away from someone who says ‘It has to be done this way.’ I think each person is different and until I get to know a client (3-5 times), I don’t make any rash assumptions. Make sure you feel good about what you are doing, physically and mentally. 🙂

  4. January 8, 2010 10:16 pm

    26 classes by March sounds like fun! I go back and forth on trainers- if they know what they are doing and customize workouts for you, go for it. If not, you can do your own thing.

  5. January 8, 2010 10:55 pm

    Yay zumba! Remember to dance like no one is watching! 🙂

  6. Mrs. B permalink
    January 8, 2010 11:24 pm

    Okay maybe I missed it – but which gym is it?! I LOVE spinning, it is one of my favorites.

  7. January 8, 2010 11:27 pm

    I so want to work with a personal trainer, but hello? $$ super expensive! It can’t hurt to try it… if you don’t like it, or the trainer isn’t the right ‘match’ for you, you can stop!

  8. January 9, 2010 7:56 am

    Heath, The best workout I ever had was with a personal trainer..it isn’t really scary. It is actually super helpful cause THEY know how to use all the machines you are scared of and they know how much your body can handle. I always have a hard time on machines trying to figure out which weight I should start with, how many reps I should do, etc…but they can start you off right and encourage you to keep going when you want to quit. I am super jealous of your gym..we only have 3 gyms here. One is Curves which I have been a member of for a year and I love, but it is closing, which leaves us with 2 options and let me just say…I have NEVER seen a gym that is only 20 dollars a month..I pay a lot more and dont have any of the nice things you have…so I may have to come live with you..is that okay? Also..why don’t you follow my blog? Love you!

  9. January 9, 2010 9:15 am

    First of all, as if I didn’t know this already, you are a woman after my own heart. Punny names? I am ALL.OVER.THAT. I would totally take a class called “Willpower and Grace” or anything with a moniker that incorporates pop culture. I am loving all of the technology and assets of this gym. Is it a chain? I could only WISH for something so great here. I think your goals are fantastic and I cannot wait for what I am sure to be witty recounts of every class. Have a good weekend! xoxo

  10. Danielle permalink
    January 9, 2010 3:12 pm

    I don’t know if I would like working out with a personal trainer, but that may be because the personal trainers at my gym drive me crazy when they’re training other people. Seriously, the one lady yells so loud that I’ve nearly fallen off the treadmill several times, even with my headphones on. So maybe you could scout out trainers who seem nice while you’re working out at the gym.

  11. Kati permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:00 am

    I feel the same way about a personal trainer. I also just joined a gym and have the option to try this. You put it best when you talked about feeling like you’re not living up to someone else’s standards. I can tell myself that I am going to swim 2500 meters and then if I only do 1500 it’s OK when it’s just me! I think I’m going to take your friend Kristen’s advice and schedule a time with a trainer to help me come up with a good schedule that’s right for me.

Trackbacks

  1. Greatly Grateful « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

