Skip to content

Sunday Fun-day

January 3, 2010

I can not believe that tomorrow I start a five day work week again.  I feel like it has been FOREVER since I was held to that kind of responsibility; it’s almost like I’m forced to be an adult, again!  EEK!

In all actuality, I’m pretty darn excited about the new week.  While I love having so much time to myself to do absolutely whatever I want [read: nothing of any importance to anyone but myself 😉 ]  there is something to be said for a routine and a sense of accomplishment. 

To round out a fabulous weekend, I actually decided to get my butt out of the house today.  So after lunch, I headed to the closest Starbucks with dreams of a soy-caramel-brulee-latte in a red cup with my gift card from my sister, before the poof took place and they disappeared [both the red cups and the caramel brulee!]  It seemed I was too late though, the caramel brulee was gone and I was forced to order an awake tea soy latte with pumpkin – the HORROR!  Actually, I was pretty excited to see that this Starbucks still had some Pumpkin Spice to go around, ordered my latte and settled down near an outlet for some serious productivity in the form of Blog planning 2010.

 100_2175

Since I go back to work for five whole days this week, plus two nights at the store, I wanted to make sure I had some time set aside specifically for finishing a few specific posts that are in the works. I’ll also spent some time lining out some goals for Then Heather Said.  The first goal on the list is UBER-important for me; I never want to blog out of obligation. I love blogging, and writing in general,  and I put a lot of thought and genuine “Heather-ness” into everyone of the decisions I make for Then Heather Said; whether it be a special series, the overall direction of THS, or one tiny post about my day.

I feel like the importance of writing in my life has been on my mind a lot lately.  My friend Jessica posted about writing today, after I started working on my list, but it was so right on to what I was thinking.  From a comment I left on her blog;

I NEED to write- but I am not wanting to make a career out of it. But I NEED to write. I can’t say it enough. It’s the only thing that makes sense to me, and the only thing that helps me to make sense of my life. THS, my personal journal, short stories I pen down in a book for my future children to laugh at, or even in just a long email to a friend- I need to get those words down- on the screen, on paper, just OUT of my finger tips.

Then Heather Said is important to me because it’s the most honest look into my life that I can give.  For those I know from different seasons of my life that are checking in and catching up, for those friends I’ve made through this fabulous blogging community, or for those strangers that stumble upon my blog in one way or another. [by the way, why are you searching for some of the things you are searching for, I will never understand and I don’t think I ever want to 😉 ]

Along with working on the 2010 direction of THS and answering a billion emails I had let go unanswered for FAR too long (hello, November, how are you doing these days?!), I also got a lesson from Julie on how to use ITunes. Yes, I am aware that I should have learned this years ago, but I’ve never really had ITunes on my own computer before, so I needed some schooling.  Luckily, she taught me a few things I was needing to know to start my playlist making/podcast subscribing/library building.  Thanks, Julie! (also, thanks to Dad for uploading 45G of music to my computer 🙂 you’re the best, Daddy-O!)

itunes

 

I got a call from my former fiancé to help him with some editing while I was at Starbucks, and I gladly took the opportunity to make my way across town to Panera to take advantage of their mega-fast free wifi.  Errr….and also help a friend in need.  Before I left Starbucks, of course I had to leave some Operation Beautiful love.

100_2165

After a quick trip to Panera, I found myself a table near some outlets and got to work clearing out the Google reader.  Imagine my surprise when my former fiancé arrived and I saw this:

 

100_2169 Why, that’s an awful nice shirt you got going on there, former fiancé.  I didn’t know you were an Illinois fan! [ clearly some things were not returned post break up 😉 ]  I have to give him some slack, because I’m such a nice girl. [riiiight] Furthermore, I really can’t get upset for a southern boy supporting the Big Ten conference, right? 

 

Do you plan you blog posts in advance, or just go with the flow and posts whatever comes to mind?  My posts are about 50/50.  I have an arsenal of ideas and drafts started in live writer, but I also try to keep things fresh and not rely too much on a plan. [I’m working towards being more carefree and less of a control freak, remember?)]

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 8:41 pm

    I made a list of blog goals for 2010, too! Glad I’m not the only one. And you still speak with the former fiance?? I had no idea. I guess that means you’re on good terms?

  2. January 3, 2010 10:14 pm

    I plan to just go with the flow. Since I am gathering ideas from my scattered brain on which direction my book should take, I can use the overflow for my blog 🙂

    P.S.-I had no idea that Michael was still in NY…

  3. January 3, 2010 10:47 pm

    I almost never plan what I blog.

    I write all of my posts in good ol’ Notepad, and then copy and paste them over to format them.

    I blog nearly everything I write.

    Each post usually takes me 30 minutes to write. Tops.

  4. January 3, 2010 11:06 pm

    I don’t plan when I blog. I think only sometimes. It all depends:)
    Its so nice of you to still talk to your formal fiance. It shows that you have a kind heart to forgive people. Aww I want to give you a hug .:hug:.

    Much Love
    J

  5. January 4, 2010 12:18 pm

    I never blog in advance. I may have had one or two posts as drafts, but I don’t think I ever posted them… I do much better when I sit down at the computer and write a blog post right then and there.
    I think it’s nice that you talk to your former fiance. No matter how it ended, the fact is that you spent A LOT of time with him… you don’t have to be bff, but it’s nice that you guys can chat! Kudos to you, because I can imagine that was a difficult place to get to!

  6. January 4, 2010 1:16 pm

    I have a memo on my blackberry with ideas for posts, but they usually never get realized. One thing I’d like to do this year is get away from as many “here’s what I ate” posts and write more thoughtful, planned posts. However, in order to get there, I’ll have to start thinking more critically and be more mindful of everything…not such a bad idea, if I can actually do it!

  7. January 4, 2010 2:06 pm

    “or for those strangers that stumble upon my blog in one way or another. [by the way, why are you searching for some of the things you are searching for, I will never understand and I don’t think I ever want to..”

    Seriously. I get some weird stuff too, it makes me laugh. I love your goals and your organization – you really inspire me! I need to get ideas/goals from mind to paper to blog v. soon! Hope today is a good one!

  8. January 5, 2010 12:34 am

    I’m going to comment on the whole iTunes thing. (First off…YOU’VE NEVER HAD IT BEFORE?! WHAT?!)

    Anyhow, I love my iTunes. If you have an iPod Touch or iPhone, make sure you utilize the Apps (there really is one for everything) and TV shows. You can also download movies, but I find it easier to watch the shorter TV shows than movies. (For the record, you can buy some cord at Best Buy or wherever that lets you hook it up to your regular TV to watch any videos from your iPod, so you’re not stuck to that small format.) I have tons of shows on my iTunes–including all six seasons of “Sex and the City.” 😉

    Also, it’s kind of annoying at first and a bit weird, but I love the Genius function. It’s fantastic!

  9. January 5, 2010 12:36 am

    Also, do you read Bread & Honey? It’s a great food blog. Just thought I’d give you a heads up in case.

    http://bread-and-honey.blogspot.com/

  10. January 6, 2010 1:06 pm

    Mine are half/half. Or mostly I have drafts where I jot down “OO, write about this!” and then get back to it and publish it once I’m done!

  11. January 6, 2010 3:20 pm

    I post some blog posts in advance, such as my “you capture” or themed posts that I know are going to be linked on a certain day each week. I occasionally post something at night to go up in the morning (if I’ve already posted that day.) My blog is so random that it wouldn’t make sense if I saved some of what I have to say for another week.

    And on the ex-fiance note, I have an ex-fiance and it took me forever to talk to him. We’re not close at all anymore, and that’s okay by me (and my husband!)

  12. January 6, 2010 5:20 pm

    Go with the floww… :)!

Leave a Reply

