Skip to content

The Perfect Start

January 2, 2010

It’s now officially January 2nd, as it’s 1:45 AM as I start to write this post, which I meant to write on January 1st.  Oops.  I guess this means I’m already doing just fine with my new years declaration to procrastinate.

I feel like this weekend is definitely a great start to 2010. 

1. My little sister is now officially 23 years old!  Happy (belated) Birthday, Melissa! 

DSCF2097

(i love this goofy photo of my little sis!)

2. It’s officially the start of the Eat In Month Challenge that Diana is hosting! This challenge is going to make for a healthier month for sure! 6a00e54fdaec728834012876872a67970c-500wi

3. My New Years Eve was perfection! Sushi for dinner, wine, my comfy hoodie, NYE traditional snack of pickle-ham roll-ups, and a carrot cake muffin for dessert!  Good-bye 2009!  The year of the broken engagement is finally gone and I am more than happy to celebrate the new year!

100_2015100_2011100_2013100_2014100_2039100_2055100_2043100_2046

 

4. French Press Peet’s Coffee with Pumpkin Spice Silk and the last of Trinity’s Almond Crisps.  Oh my, these were so delicious- and saving the last few bites for New Years Day was a great decision!

100_2034 100_1995 100_2026

5. Time for a new Journal!! Each year, I start a new journal.  This is my 2009 journal:

100_2097 
It’s a bit roughed up- clearly it’s been well used!

I love keep journals by year- each one is like an open door into a specific season of my life.  I don’t write about my day to day happenings, or ever start out “Dear Diary”- instead my journals are a collection of notes from books or articles I read, doodles, quotes I find and quickly adore, cards I receive from friends and family, and lots of different kinds of lists.  Occasionally I write through my emotions and experiences but mostly these yearly journals are just a hodge-podge, collection of my life.

     100_2107 100_2108 100_2109 

The journals usually start with a list of my New Years Resolutions.  So, how did I stand up to my 2009 Resolutions?

100_2104

Drink more wine. CHECK! I like red wine. I like red wine, a lot.
Become a better story teller. Hmmm. If anything, I’m wordier. I don’t know if that counts.
Laugh & make others laugh. CHECK! Done and done! [one of the engineers at work recently said to me; “Heather, is there ANYONE on the planet that doesn’t think you are hilarious.”  ha. ]
Create & Perfect homemade Mac & Cheese recipe. CHECK! I loved making this extra healthy mac & cheese + butternut squash recipe this fall.  
Write Letters.
CHECK! I love sending mail by postal service to my friends all across the nation- there is something truly extraordinary about a handwritten letter. This is a hobby I hope to continue throughout my adult life.
Do something creative everyday. FAIL. I was clearly trying to take a nod from Paper Source with this one, and I definitely was way too lazy some days during 2009 to even think about being creative. 
Learn how to use sewing machine. FAIL. epic, epic, fail.  I have taking my sewing machine out of the box.  I have yet to do anything else with it. I haven’t even threaded it yet.  oops.
Participate in 5K (at least once). CHECK! I am happy to report I ran in three 5K’s this fall! 

I did fairly well, if  I do say so myself 🙂

6. I’ve been lounging around most of the day- cheering on Ohio State, watching DVDs, catching up on blogs, and flipping through my new cook books.  It’s been wonderful! 

If you would have asked me a year ago what I would be doing 01/01/10, I most definitely wouldn’t have answered that I would be celebrating the new year in my single-girl apartment, alone in my comfy clothes.  I’m sure at the time I would have given some suggested answer about celebrating a Newlywed New Years, starting our own family traditions together. 

Honestly, sometimes I find myself thinking about “if all would have gone according to plan, we would be a few days away from our 4 month anniversary.  I would be a married woman.  I would be a wife.”  Each time these thoughts come into my mind, however, they are decently fleeting.  The truth is I think it’s rather fitting that I am spending the weekend on my own. After all, I am declaring this the year of my fabulous independence!

 

How did you kick off 2010?  What makes 2010 spectacular already for you?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 12:01 pm

    I love your handwriting. The End.

  2. January 2, 2010 12:17 pm

    Thanks for stopping by, I can’t wait to see how everyone else does with the food challenge as well!

  3. January 2, 2010 12:37 pm

    Mmm. I love coffee with Pumpkin Silk. I snatched up a carton for $1 at Kroger last week, as the holiday season is sadly coming to an end. I have got to try your butternut macaroni. Maybe I can vegan-ize it for my blog! Happy New Year, girl. I know it’s gonna be a good one.

  4. frogsandmen permalink
    January 2, 2010 1:12 pm

    red wine. mmm. what kinds?

    • January 2, 2010 1:21 pm

      The red wine I had for new years was a 2006 Brotherhood Pinot Noir – it was my first taste of a Pinor Noir and I simply ADORED it! “A berry nose and a hint of vanilla-oak” it was very well balanced- simply devine!

      Brotherhood is a New York winery located in Washingtonville and is also America’s Oldest Winery, established in 1839. Now that I live in New York maybe I’ll take a visit sometime this year!

  5. Mrs. B permalink
    January 2, 2010 2:50 pm

    I keep a journal each year as well, but I lost my 2009 😦 Sadness. Along with ‘The TwentyFifthYear’ I do love your handwriting.

  6. January 2, 2010 3:45 pm

    Thanks for stopping in. So nice to meet you! Good luck on your resolutions, journal and the challenge. I love mac & cheese by the way!

  7. Danielle permalink
    January 2, 2010 7:36 pm

    My 2010 is off to a very productive start! My goal for January is to get the house ready for BGS, and we have gotten a lot done in just 2 days. Now off to buy the crib.

  8. January 3, 2010 3:44 pm

    i also meant to mention how very very adorable little sis is.

  9. Kayla J permalink
    January 3, 2010 7:31 pm

    I also love your handwriting! and we also had the pickle-ham rollup things! delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Fun-day « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

