Skip to content

Like Whiskers on Kittens

January 2, 2010

I must admit, I am completely blessed and beyond spoiled. For proof of this fact, I wanted to share; these are a few of my favorite things [that I received for Christmas 😉 ]

You already know about my fabulous new netbook that Santa brought me, whom I’ve nicknamed Ace.  Isn’t he cute?

IMG00099 

Let me introduce you to my Bloggie Secret Santa.  Her name is Maria and she is the brilliance behind Hearts Whole Foods. This sweet woman sent me a package of perfection!  Thanks so much, Maria! Check out these goods:

100_2060

the most adorable pull-apart-cupcake tree mold & cookie cutter

 100_2069 100_2114100_2083

Foodie wonders: A variety of bars and my first EVER Trader Joe’s products :)  A white chocolate peppermint bark bar and Maria’s crave, Candy Cane Green Tea. DELICOUSNESS! 

 

You may have seen my twitpic of this Guiro that I received from my boss Jen.  I am SUPER excited to learn how to play this traditional Mexican percussion instrument.  I have been practicing every day!

IMG00066

 

Yesterday, you may have caught a story of my former roommate Ashley and I on our Very Denton Christmas.  Well, lookie here at what Ashley sent me for Christmas this year- every time I get a package from Ashley it’s filled with the most delightful presents that are a perfect fit for me!

100_1968 100_1967

A To-Do List mug that you can write-on yourself 🙂 Unfortunately, the note Ash left for me started to smudge in the packaging- but Ash being the genius that she is made sure to include a written copy in the Christmas card she attached incase it was not readable.  She wants me to choose from a selection of dates she has available to come and visit me in New York!  WOO HOO!  Having one of my closet friends and greatest encouragements coming to visit sometime early 2010 is like an extended Christmas gift!  I am really looking forward to seeing Ash again soon; it’s been almost a year and a half since we’ve seen each other.

I also had some fun playing with the mug myself:

100_1972100_1978

100_1980

[the perfect mug for Then Heather Said, don’t you think?]

 

A few other Christmas Morning favorites: 
IMG00087
this super awesome ornament Santa left in my stocking.

 

IMG00088DSCF2050
these beautifully wrapped gifts contained the remainder of the One Tree Hill (guilty pleasure, much?) seasons I needed to complete my collection from my Uncle Blake and Aunt Christine.

IMG00091

Apparently, Santa has been reading the blog and took note of how wonderful the Operation Beautiful movement is, because he left a whole box of super sticky post-its under the tree!  I made sure to send Caitlin a message right away to inform her that Santa is in cahoots with her brilliant revolutionary ideas.

My little brother hit Christmas out of the park this year- a cookbook titled Cheap. Fast. Good. (or what my sister and I dubbed the slutty cookbook 😉 )  100_1963 

I’ve been flipping through this book a lot the past few days, and I am ultra-impressed.  A lot of the recipes look delightful, and I am excited to possibly try and “healthify” a few of them in my kitchen.  The book is filled with little “about” sections that break down ingredients , and “chew on this” sections that give you extra pointers on how to save some cash- perfect for this thrifty girl!

100_1964

Here’s a recipe that’s on the top of my to make list;

Sassy Chickpea Burgers with Lemon Aioli

Chickpea Burgers
Ingredients:
2 cloves garlic
1 small onion
1/4 green bell pepper
1 can chickpeas, (or 1 cup dry chickpeas, prepared)
1 large egg
1 1/4 cups soft bread crumbs
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 c vegetable oil
1/2 c all-purpose flour

Directions:
1. Peel the garlic.  Turn on a food processor and drop the cloves through the feed tube.  Process until finely minced.

2. Peel the onion, cut it into quarters, and place the quarters in the food processor bowl.  Cut the bell pepper into quarters and add them to the processor bowl.  Pulse until the onion and pepper are finely minced but not mushy, stopping once or twice to scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Using a rubber spatula, scrape the minced vegetables into a medium-sized mixing bowl. 

3. Drain the liquid from the can of chickpeas into a small bowl or cup and set it aside.  Pour the chickpeas into the processor bowl and add the egg.  Add 2 T of the reserved chickpea liquid or water.  Process just until the chickpeas are finely chopped but still have some texture.  Add them to the onion mixture.  Add the bread crumbs, salt, and black pepper to the bowl and stir until the ingredients are well mixed. 

4. Heat the oil in an extra deep 12-inch skillet over medium heat.  While the oil is heating, shape the mixture into patties: squeeze one forth of the mixture in your hands to make a tight ball.  Flatten the ball into a patty, making it as thin as you can without it cracking.  Repeat with the remaining mixture to make 3 more patties. 

5. Spread the flour on a plate and dredge the chickpea patties lightly in it.  Aded the patties to the hot oil and fry until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes per side. 

Lemon Aioli
Ingredients:
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp grated lemon zest
1 T lemon juice
1/3 c low-fat mayonnaise
1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:
Peel and finely mince the garlic or use a garlic press.  Place the garlic in a 2-cup or larger bowl.  Add the lemon zest and lemon juice to the bowl.  Add the mayonnaise and oil and stir well to blend.  Serve at once or refrigerate, covered, for up to 2 days. 

I’m thinking of having these patties with pita pockets and fresh spinach leaves and ripe tomato slices. Delightful! Who wants to come over for dinner?

 

These are just a few of my favorite gifts from Christmas 2009– I told you that I was spoiled!  Truth be told there wasn’t one gift I opened this year that I didn’t absolutely adore. I am so blessed! 

I know that the holidays should be more about giving than receiving- and believe me, I truly love splurging on my friends and family; whether it’s money, time or thought that is splurged!  I am so grateful that my friends and family splurged so much on me this year!  What was your favorite gift you received this holiday season?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 9:07 am

    Ok, I must know where to get that coffee mug! I am obsessed with coffee mugs!

  2. January 2, 2010 12:28 pm

    That coffee mug is genius! Now I want to go find one 🙂

  3. Danielle permalink
    January 2, 2010 7:34 pm

    That coffee mug is super cute!

  4. January 3, 2010 11:37 am

    Awww, Heather! I’m so glad that you enjoyed my gift 🙂 Yaaaay!!!

    Ooooh and the netbook sounds so awesome and so does the chickpea burger!

  5. Kayla J permalink
    January 3, 2010 7:30 pm

    Okay, first off, all your gifts look awesome and totally Heather-esque. 🙂
    Secondly, in regards to the cookbook…you and Melissa WOULD. Goodness.

Leave a Reply

