Skip to content

I’ve Got a Feeling of Fairness

December 28, 2009

Woo-hoo!

A few reasons why I am super happy to have gotten on the wrong flight and had to stay in Denton with the family another night:

 

1. I would have never learned that the song I’ve Got a Feeling is a Black Eyed Peas song.  I have no idea what artist I thought released this song, but I know I didn’t think it was the Black Eyed Peas- clearly, as when my sister showed me this video and it said “Black Eyed Peas” I questioned the knowledge of youtube. In all fairness, I haven’t really listened to much radio other than NPR in the past year or so.

2. That being said, I got to hang out with my little sister for the evening.  We hadn’t spent much 1-on-1 time together while I was home, and I was happy to spend a few hours with her. In all fairness, I should warn you that the photo you are about to see is pretty darn cute!

DSCF2098

3. Even if it was just sitting in her room working on my computer while she cleaned oput the closet of the room she’s never really lived in. My parents moved to Denton while she was in college in Minnesota, so her stuff moved, but she had never actually gone through any of the boxes that were put into the closet when my parents moved in several years ago. Apparently now was the time, because this is what happened-

IMG00127IMG00128

In all fairness, she did get rid of four garbage bags and two large boxes full of stuff.  And I got to look at this fun tree while I worked;

IMG00129   

Side Note: My mom decorates a Christmas Tree for each room of the house. Yes, I’m serious.  My sister has an affection for penguins, so the tree in her bedroom is decorate with ALL penguin ornaments.  It is adorable and we spent about 15 minutes discussing our favorite ornaments on the tree.  In all fairness, this blurry photo does not do my mother’s decorating work justice.  You should see this pretty little thing when the red and white badger Christmas lights are turned on. BEAUTIFUL.

4. If I never would have gotten on the wrong plane, I never would have gotten to experience one of my favorite southern treats; The Sonic Lemon Berry Fresh Fruit Slush [with extra berries].  One of these treats during each of my visits to Texas is definitely worth the indulgence!

 

IMG00124

 

In all fairness, I should admit that I also snacked on half a Sonic breakfast burrito for dinner on our way home from the airport.  I also enjoyed a Sonic burger and diet Dr. Pepper when I first arrived in Dallas- as when I walked off the plane, I realized the reason I was probably feeling ill was that I had been awake for over 12 hours and had only had a perfect oatmeal and toffee nut latte all day.

IMG00079

 

5. In all fairness, I should note that because I woke up in Denton again, I was lucky enough to enjoy a fabulous breakfast made by Dad.

IMG00135

You may note that I was a bad blogger and didn’t actually take a photo of the waffle my Dad made, but rather just the waffle iron.  This is because the waffle was so yummy it didn’t stand a chance against time to get out my blackberry and snap a photo.  I smothered my waffle with leftover cranberry sauce from Christmas Eve dinner and some fat-free, low-cal whipped cream. SO GOOD.

I also had a giant mug of coffee with pumpkin spice creamer.  I love this Mickey mug, which basically summed up how I was feeling this morning. 

IMG00133 IMG00134

6. Also, because I was at my parent’s house again last night, I had time to set up my blackberry tethering free trial from Tether Berry. Meaning that right now, I am at the airport, surfing the web without having to purchase the T-mobile hotspot pass.

IMG00140

I will most likely purchase the software when my 7-day free trial is up, because paying a one time program fee in order to have the internet fed to my netbook with the push of two buttons, using the monthly fee I’m already paying for with my unlimited blackberry data plan seems a lot more reasonable than trying to find an internet provider for my apartment or only having wifi when I am being a patron at the local coffee shop or bar. In all fairness, it’s not that I don’t plan on taking advantage of that at some point, as well. 

7. And, because I stopped at Starbucks yesterday before my boarding the wrong plan, I remembered this sweet little Samsung Mobile seating/charging/relaxing/waiting area connected to the Starbucks cafe where I could spend some time blogging.

 IMG00138 IMG00139 In all fairness, these fellow travelers did not know I was sneaking photos of them for the blog.  So at this time I would like to apologize to them for just putting their pictures out there for the world to see.

And of course, I had to have an iced coffee to accompany my working.  Venti Iced Soy Toffee Nut Latte. Yum.

IMG00136

8. Finally, a conversation between my mother and I on our drive to the airport.

Heather: I’m choosing to believe that there is a reason I got on the wrong plane last night and missed my flight.

Mom: yeah?

Heather: Yes. Like perhaps, if I returned to Albany after midnight I would have been really sleepy and gotten in a car accident on the drive home and so Jesus was just looking out for me.

Mom: yes, I’m sure there is a reason.

Heather: Even if that reason was the Lemon Berry Fresh Fruit Slush with Extra Berries.

Mom: ummm…

Heather: Or maybe someone who really needed to get to Albany was able to fill my seat.

Mom: Yes, there was probably some sort of reason.

Heather: I’m going to choose to believe that whomever was sitting in flight 09-A met their future spouse sitting in 09-B.  If it wasn’t for me making a fool out of myself and boarding the wrong plane, they never would have met. They will get married and live happily ever after all because of me.

Mom: that has got to be it.

 

So there you have it – It’s like Serendipity! I’m like the ultimate matchmaker of travelers and they won’t ever even know it!

 

 

Do you believe that everything happens for a reason? When was the last time you felt like you made a mistake?  Is it possible that your mistake, no matter how big or small, was a benefit to someone else? Even a perfect stranger? 

I choose to believe, yes. My mistakes make the world a better place 😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 1:59 pm

    I have the worst luck sometimes, I hate being late but it seems to happen sometimes. Ashley (healthyashley) and I were on our way to yoga, missed our turn(my fault) and then there was a road block. My second road block when late to yoga. Yep, happened twice. I chose to believe that if I had turned in the right spot we would have been in that accident instead. It did happen right around the time we should have been driving across that road. God works all things out, plus you got more family time. I wouldn’t be too upset about that! 😉

  2. Kayla J permalink
    December 28, 2009 6:50 pm

    In all fairness, I think you should know that I enjoyed this IMMENSELY. 🙂

  3. katrina m permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:22 am

    do you really like the phrase “in all fairness” or something??

  4. December 29, 2009 9:03 am

    You and I have the EXACT same train of thought: “It’s like SERENDIPITY” haha I seriously laughed at this. I always try to make tough or embarrassing situations more lovable by linking them to movies or my all time fav, Sex and the City: “I AM Carrie Bradshaw and I haven’t heard back from that guy because Aidan is just around the corner!”

  5. January 3, 2010 4:02 pm

    I love Disney mugs, I have the Tinker Bell one that says Mornings aren’t magical and the insulated Minnie that says Mornings aren’t pretty, seeing Disney characters in foul moods makes me chuckle.

  6. November 23, 2010 12:27 am

    I’m finding it incredibly funny you took pictures of complete strangers at the airport. Now I know I’m not the only one who does this. Although, I take pictures of really hot men at airports and text said pictures to friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

