Skip to content

Joining the Whittlers

November 11, 2009
tags:

Angela has started yet another blogger trend.
The Whittle My Middle challenge.

Yesterday, in my Ten To-Do’s to Become a Better Runner– I mentioned my needing to do some Core work- so you can bet your bippy I agreed to participate in the challenge.

In Ange’s challenge includes pictures, measurements and core work. More specificly, 6-10 minute core workouts 5 days a week. She lists 6 different exercises she plans to do each day during her workouts- a few of which use a stability ball.

I myself do not have a stability ball, so I planned on doing some substitution exercises. Soon after I decided this, I saw a tweet from my friend Kristin asking for some stability ball-free core ideas – I replied that I am making my own workout and Kristin and my new blog friend , the Queen, both asked me to post the details of my core workout on Then Heather Said- so here I am.

My Core Workout will be 6-10 minute core workouts 5 days a week and include the following exercises, which I have embedded with links to “how to’s” from sparkpeople:

Dumbbell Crunches

Hip Flexor and Extensions

Lying Straight Leg Raises

Pendulums

Planks

Side Planks

TStands

I’m not going to lie [afterall, we did just talk about honesty!] – I’m a bit terrified of this Whittle My Middle 30 day plan! I haven’t focused on core work in a really long time, and I know I’m going to be quite sore, especially at the start, but I also know that’s a GREAT PLACE TO BE. The soreness means it’s working. [this may become my mantra for the next month]

Great News- you don’t have to be a blogger to Whittle Your Middle, and I’ve just proven you don’t need a stability ball 😉 – what do you say, will you join the Whittlers with me? Want more reason to join the challenge rather than “everyones doing it? Here’s an article about why a strong core is a good thing! So- are you in?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    November 11, 2009 3:11 pm

    WOW! I don't think my blog has ever been mentioned on another blog before! Thanks!

  2. Nicci@NiftyEats permalink
    November 11, 2009 10:05 pm

    I'm going to try and incorporate this challenge into the other ones I'm doing! Should be fun…I want a flat tummy.

  3. Melissa permalink
    November 12, 2009 2:08 pm

    I had a free training session a month ago and the trainer really stressed doing core work. I'll have to check out Oh She Glows so I can join this challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

