Skip to content

The First [little] Giveaway

October 26, 2009

A little over a week ago, I had a lunch date with a friend at one of my favorite places to indulge: Smokey Bones BBQ. I have a deep longing every so often for these pretzel rod appetizers they have [as I write this, my mouth is literally WATERING!] and I can usually go for anything that goes well with BBQ sauce.

Even better, during the fall, Smokey Bones has some pretty freakin’ amazing football themed deals- As in every College Football Saturday [College Football Saturdays are a favorite! But that has really nothing to do with this post.], NFL Sunday, and even Monday nights after 8 (MNF anyone?) all their appetizers are half off. This means my pretzel rods of goodness (with THREE dipping sauces!) are less than $3 in my neck of the woods. Holy Moly – add this great treat deal with the fact that I LOVE LOVE LOVE their “Hail Mary” (ahem- punny drink names make my happy in my heart. And in my tastebuds. I’m just saying.) and you could say that Smokey Bones is my FAVORITE PLACE to watch a game [other than Camp Randall, of course!]

Smokey Bones is a favorite. But that has really nothing to do with this post.

So, anyway, last weekend, after said pretzel rods, Hail Mary, and things dipped in BBQ sauce [like pretzel rods! 😉 ] I headed to Starbucks for another indulgence, hoping it would fuel me for an afternoon of productivity in the reading and cleaning department [of my apartment. Ba-dump-ching.]

So to Starbucks we went. And the indulgence did in fact continue.

Grande Soy Toffee Nut Latte is a favorite. But that’s not what I ordered. And therefore, that really has nothing to do with this post.

It’s October, and I’ve been on Pumpkin-Overkill-Mode lately, so OF COURSE, I had to go for the Grande Soy Pumpkin Spice Latte. And it was good.
While I was at Starbucks, I sent out a twitter plea, asking for advice on whether I should purchase some VIA. I hadn’t yet tried it, and of course, being a Starbucks fan for almost a decade now [I think my first visit was back in 2000] I was curious. Could this really be as good on the go as if I were to grind my beans and make my own cup at home? Luckily, I took the advice of my friend & barista-extraordinare Tim, and picked up a box.

You may remember my being kind-of-almost-something-must-be-wrong-with-me-yet-i-feel-fine ill last week. This led me to put off trying my VIA Ready Brew until Thursday morning, at the office.

I was excited. I poured the packet of via into my mug. I used the hot water from our water cooler. I noticed how rich & dark the coffee looked right away. I breathed in deep the smell of the medium blend Colombian and I was happy.

And Impressed! Rich, smooth and tasty! And Then Heather Said, “THIS IS FABULOUS” and shared her findings with her co-workers.

Let’s take this story back in time a bit: flash back style.Last Monday during my lunch time, before I went home early from work, I read a twitter from previously mentioned Tim, that read, “What are the 3 top reasons you would buy Starbucks VIA? Best answer gets some VIA!!!”

I put my creative hat on, and twittered away:

1) include in cards mailed to pals for long-distance coffee dates
2) keep one in emergency car kit: no coffee=emergency!
3) share with postman, toll booth operator, store clerk, hair stylist, etc: people whom deserve xtra thank you’s.

Imagine my surprise when I woke up from my maybe-sick-or-something-nap and read this
“@timkong: @mooreshugar Great job with the VIA Suggestions. Email me your address and I’ll mail you some VIA.”

HOORAY! I love winning 🙂

I’ve already sent out one long-distance coffee date.
and I added two VIA Ready Brew packets to my emergency car kit.
And now, I wanted to share some VIA with people whom deserve an extra Thank You: and that would be YOU – my readers! Whom have supported and encouraged me through the difficult stuff and celebrated the good stuff with me!

So, without further ado:

The First [little] Giveaway

Starbucks coffee is a favorite.
TAZO Passion Tea is a favorite.
and that is the point of this post.

The winner will receive a pack of on-the-go Starbucks favorites from Then Heather Said; VIA Ready Brew & TAZO Passion tea!

ENTER NOW!
There are three ways to enter:
1. Share: leave a comment with your favorite “warm me up!” beverage for fall.
2. Post a link on your own blog to the giveaway
3. Tweet Tweet: Are you on Twitter? Tweet about the giveaway:

@mooreshugar is hosting a starbucks thank you giveaway: http://thenheathersaid.blogspot.com/2009/10/first-little-giveaway.html

[if you tweet or post a link on your blog, please let me know via a comment on the blog so I don’t miss any extra entries! ]

The giveaway will end Wednesday, October 28, at 11:59 PM. I will choose the winner randomly and share with you on Thursday morning.
go ahead- enter away!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) permalink
    October 26, 2009 12:46 pm

    My favorite warm-me-up beverage is a pumpkin spice latte!

  2. Diana permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:21 pm

    My fav warm me up beverage is definitely tea! Any kind of tea honestly! 🙂 Except mint, not a fan of that :p

  3. Kristin permalink
    October 26, 2009 2:27 pm

    Hi! My fav wamr me up drink would have to be hot chocolate with a shot of peppermint schnapps! Yum!

  4. Kristin permalink
    October 26, 2009 2:28 pm

    I "tweeted" !

  5. suburban prep permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:43 pm

    I love Hot apple Cider. I also love the Berry Chai from Starbucks though and that is a very rare special treat though.

  6. Tim permalink
    October 26, 2009 10:51 pm

    Very cool

  7. Stefanie permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:44 am

    The link is on my blog! Yay for giveaways!!!

  8. Kristin permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:51 pm

    Your link is on my blog!

  9. michelle.y.palmer permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:53 pm

    Definitely, without a doubt, Lady Grey Tea. It's a black tea with a light, sweet citrus flavor. It's PERFECT any time of year. It's delicate and delicious and should be enjoyed while watching British television.

Leave a Reply

