Skip to content

Pumpkin Craze: Soup Swap Recipes Continue

October 26, 2009
tags: ,

It’s been a little while since I posted a Soup Swap recipe– and this weekend, I put one of the entries I received to the test: and let me tell you, this recipe ACED it!

This recipe was sent in by a friend of mine from Texas, Robbie. Robbie and her husband Ron have three WONDERFUL kids- and they are one of my most favorite families in southeast Texas! Time with their family has definitely helped me to set standards of my personal desires for my own (future) family; How to prioritize family needs, and constantly show love to my (future) children. And to laugh through life; the good days and bad.

Ron & Robbie have also taught me how a woman should be respected, cherished, and treated in a relationship- usually with out needing to explain what he is doing, but rather just loving by Ron loving Robbie out loud and without barricades. Their love is honest and a beautiful testament of God’s love for us.

I feel like I’m not doing a good enough job explaining how awesome this family is (perhaps cause it’s Monday morning?)- so I’m just going to hope you understand: THEY ARE AWESOME.

Onto the soup:

From Robbie’s email:

Thanks to Rachel Ray, this is a family fav. It’s especially good served with smoked mozzarella quesadillas…they make DELICIOUS dippers. This soup uses a fabulous blend of ingredients that combine to make a heart-warming and tummy-pleasing flavor. Upon first glance, it may not seem like something even worth trying, but go ahead. I’m quite certain you will be pleasantly surprised. Like other soups, I’m sure this would be better the second day, but I can’t say for sure. We have never had any left for another meal. It is always eaten up the first time around. ENJOY!!

Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

Ingredients
2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
3 cups canned or packaged vegetable stock
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes in juice (Fire Roasted tomatoes work well too)
1 can (15 ounces) black beans, drained
2 cans (15 ounces) pumpkin puree (found often on the baking aisle. NOT pie filling)
1 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon curry powder (or to taste)
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or to taste)
Coarse salt

Directions
Heat a soup pot over medium heat. Add oil. When oil is hot, add onion. Saute onions 5 minutes. Add broth, tomatoes, black beans and pumpkin puree. Stir to combine ingredients and bring soup to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low and stir in cream, curry, cumin, cayenne and salt, to taste. Simmer 5 minutes, adjust seasonings and serve.

Then Heather Said, “Here are my modifications and specifics”:
-I skipped the onion. And therefore the EVOO.
-I used Libby’s pumpkin – I had opened up a LARGE can on Friday for oats and such, and I used the remains, which was probably about 25 oz, rather than 30.
-I was all out of cumin, and didn’t realize it until I was already cooking- Instead I used onion powder- not really as a substitue, but just as MORE yum-ness.
-I had a long debate with myself about the need for heavy cream. Could I use vanilla soy milk? Light cream? Ricotta for a bit more flavor? After going over this self-discussion for about 20 minutes on my Sunday run, I finally decided to stop at the market on my way home and pick up some heavy cream. Next time I may experiment more.
-I served with fresh dark whole wheat bread I got from the local bakery section of my small village market.
SO GOOD.

It’s clearly October: I’ve kind of been on pumpkin OVERLOAD the past few days. Pumpkin oats, pumpkin granola, pumpkin soup, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin seeds, pumpkin spice pancakes, pumpkin pie kashi bars, pumpkin muffin, even tried pumpkin beer. (I am declaring tomorrow a pumpkin free day: don’t want to burn out!) What is your favorite way to eat pumpkin?

Leave a Reply

