Skip to content

One through Ten

October 21, 2009

Before I get started on crossing off the eleventh item on my 101 in 1001 in list, I thought I should take some time to discuss some completed tasks.

I made the list ten months ago and in that time I’ve completed ten things. [Apparently I’ve been procrastinating 😉 ] Since I plan on recapping the 91 remaining items as they happen through out the next two years, I thought maybe I should share some highlights of the first ten “to-do”s I’ve completed.

A short blurb about each of the ten items I’ve completed so far [in no order]:

27. Make a Necklace:
Danielle graduated a year ahead of me from Lodi High School. She and I became best friends there. I don’t know when it was exactly that the best-friendness began, because in a town of 3,000 everyone pretty much knows everyone and we had been hanging out in circles that intertwined for my entire time in Lodi. We were both involved with Show Choir & Musical, and we bonded at sporting events, eventually becoming good friends and working together in the Wisconsin Dells, during the summers.

Early on in our friendship we realized we shared another similarity outside of jazz hands and leadership and dressing up like Ally the Alligator. We loved to craft. It started with scrapbooking back in the day, but eventually became a love for paper. [I can’t speak for Danielle, I suppose, but at least in my case, it became a love for paper.] Over the years we’ve tried our hands at a few other crafts along the way; and we even both got the same sewing machine for Christmas last year. [mine is finally out of the box, but still not threaded. Hmmm.]

During a few of the most recent trips I took to St. Paul to visit Danielle, we found ourselves at The Bead Monkey. Danielle made all of her bridesmaids super cute necklaces to wear at the wedding, so our first trip was to find a design we liked for her to give jewelry making a try. After they turned out sodarling, we found ourselves back at The Bead Monkey during my trip this past May, for a few other projects. We found a pattern and beading for my own wedding day earrings (which post broken-engagement became my “Wicked on Broadway” earrings.) and I also found some wonderful beads and trinkets to make into a sort of charm necklace.

My dear friend, former roommate and Maid of Honor, Kelly, had brought me back some beautiful beads from her trip to New Mexico, and I was so excited to make a necklace to display the mementoes. I took the trinkets from Kelly into The Bead Monkey, found some beads and charms to match and made a cute, long piece that I love wearing with a colored Tshirt and cardigan. [I’ll work on taking a photo of said necklace soon.]

37. Stand in Times Square & 29. See a Live Comic Show
For this past Valentine’s Day, my former fiancé took me on a surprise trip. It was sweet, and fun, and short, and memorable; a short day-long trip to New York City. It was my first official trip.

We went to breakfast, the Museum of Natural History (I have a great love for museums), Times Square to meet our good friend Joey for cheesecake and coffee at Roxy’s diner (I also visited the MTV store to get some “Team Lauren” buttons for myself and few friends who aren’t afraid to admit their love for The Hills), dinner at my now favorite NYC casual dining locale, Blockheads, and Comic Strip Live. [we saw four great comedians- including Sherrod Small, who is one of my favorite VH1 Nostalgia show commentators 🙂 ] Followed by Coffee at a tiny 24 hour deli and a long drive back upstate. It was a wonderful surprise, a great trip and I am thankful for those memories.

57. Read Catcher in the Rye –
Catcher in the Rye had been on my “to read” list since high school. Finally, this past spring, I loaned it from the library and read it. Was not as impressed as I thought I should be, but that’s probably because I based my need to read it on so many pop culture references.

5. Get a Pedicure-The weekend of the wedding-that-never-was, my parents came up to NY, as planned. It was wonderful. We stayed in a lake house and took day trips to NYC and Boston (Rock of Ages & a fabulous walking tour were both delightful!). We kayaked, grilled out, indulged in a wonderful Itallian dinner at one my new favorite local resteraunts (so many fresh ingredients from the chef’s personal garden!), and lounged around. It was the perfect way for me to spend that weekend, with out a doubt.

The weekend started for me when I left work early on Friday, and took my mother to a local Spa & Beauty Salon. It was both of our first pedicures- and it was so much fun! I got to pick the color for both of our toes, and I had OPI’s Dutch Tulip and my mother had OPI’s Cajun Shrimp – both of which were delightful shades of pink. Perfect for a weekend of feeling like a wonderful, beautiful, independent woman!

51. Get a Bed-
This is not very exciting. Former fiancé and I picked out a “marriage bed” back in June. It was delivered in the very beginning of July. It’s now my bed. It has a headboard. It is comfortable. I like it. I need to invest in a new comforter or quilt or something- that will come, in time, I’m sure. Anyone have a brand they are crazy about?

The collaborative: 3. Get a New Cell Phone, 34. go to NY State Museum, 33. Eat Sushi, & 13. Drive My Own Car
After the wedding was officially called off, my dad scheduled a trip to come to NY just a few days later. Because God loves me, my dad was already scheduled for a training in NYC the following week. I am a firm believer that this was not coincidence. He was able to move his arriving flight up a few days, and come to Albany to help me breathe. He spoiled me, of course, made me feel like special again, and helped me to stand on my own two feet. We got a lot done that weekend, but we also had some fun and I really enjoyed having my dad come to my rescue.

My dad helped me go to Sprint and get my own phone plan. My former fiancé and I had been on the same plan for years, and I was ready to have my very own plan. With that, came my dad’s suggestion that I go “all out” and get a blackberry instead of a regular flip phone. BEST. IDEA. EVER. As you might remember, most of the time, I blog from my blackberry, and having it keeps me very connected with loved ones all across the country. I should note that they don’t refer to them as “crackberrys” for nothing. Blackberry = addicting.

My parents also helped me get my own car. When my former fiancé and I first moved from Beaumont, TX to upstate NY, we sold my very old, very unreliable car and just worked with one vehicle for 11 months. It wasn’t always easy, but it did mean only one car payment, and while just starting out in New York, that was helpful. We were planning on getting a car for me this fall, but clearly, that was no longer an option.

I am so grateful for parents who care about me and want to help me so much. I seriously would be lost with out them. I know that sounds cliché, but it is true. They have both helped me SO MUCH during the recovery of the break up, the getting my single life on track, and being able to stand on my own two feet, not relying on my former fiancé for anything. At first it was hard for me to accept help from other people, I felt it would make me weak. My boss, Jen, had a talk with me though, about how it was important for me to be able to accept assistance from the people who love and care about me; for me and for them. I can’t thank my parents enough for helping me in everyway they can. [THANK YOU!!!]

While my dad was here, we also got a bunch of other “business” taken care of- so we made sure to make time for some fun stuff too!
Two of these things were also on my 101 list- Sushi & the NY State Museum!

We went to dinner at a place called Hiro’s in Albany, and the sushi was FABULOUS. My dad made sure to help me pick out a bunch of new things to try. (my theme for my after-break up lifestyle was “try something new as often as possible!”)

We also took a trip to the NY State Museum. I had been one time before, and enjoyed myself but was a bit rushed through; with my dad, I made sure to take my time in the exhibits that interested me and learned so much. We had a blast.

This past Saturday, Danielle and I also took a trip to the NY State Museum- again, I had a great time. We spent a lot of time there – and didn’t even come close to seeing it all. A few of the exhibits we spent a lot of time in weren’t there last time, and I learned a lot.

If you are in the Albany area, I highly recommend a trip the NY State Museum (admission is free! Donations accepted.)

So now that we are all caught up with what I have done, it’s time for me to set my sights on what is left to do!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    October 21, 2009 12:13 pm

    I love this! I need to update what I have done on my list as well.

  2. Danielle Lyn permalink
    October 21, 2009 1:06 pm

    I will remind you again, that I am happy to help with the list if you will just move to msp 🙂

  3. mlp permalink
    October 21, 2009 1:14 pm

    I am totally one of those people who got a Team Lauren button! It's fastened to an Ikea pillow, right next to an Obama button and an NPR button. They represent three of my loves.Also, I feel like The Catcher in the Rye is one of those books where you have to read it at the right time. I read it while I was in high school and it became one of my favorite books. I connected with it on a visceral level (even though I have very little in common with Holden). However, I read it again while I was in DC last fall and I felt differently about it. I sort of regret re-reading it since I loved it so much the first time. But I've come to terms with the fact that it was an amazing book at that point in my life. (And Salinger's "Nine Stories" are still incredible. I'll read one of the titular nine stories every so often–once every six months or so–and still be blown away. "A Perfect Day for Bananafish" and "Teddy" are my favorites.)

Leave a Reply

