Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

October 13, 2009

1. My best friend, Danielle, will be here to visit on Thursday. THAT IS SUPER SOON AND I AM SUPER EXCITED.

2. Also, as stated before, she is PREGGO. I am so excited about this. I have been doing my very best to keep this on the DL until she and her wonderful husband, Eric, were ready to announce to the general public. But let me tell you, there were many MANY trips to babygap in the past few months and I have been fighting the urge to BUY IT ALL. There were quite a few blackberry camera photos of the cutenss, but I knew posting to Twitter would be a bad idea. With my keeping my mouth shut until she gave the green light, I figured just posting this photo would lead to way too many rumors about my own life,

and I am just not ready for pregnant to be the next adjective people use to describe me. [I AM NOT PREGNANT.]

3. Sometime after the Badger game on Saturday, I remembered that my blackberry has a “Sprint TV” application which allows me to watch episodes of several tv shows. So I caught up on some ABC & NBC Shows throughout the weekend. I’m now READY for Grey’s on Thursday. [although I didn’t watch last season, I did see the season finale and have now caught up on this season as well.] I haven’t watched Grey’s with a girlfriend since season two, so I am stoked for Danielle and I to watch it together Thursday Night.

4. I also watched the first 3 episodes of Flash Forward on ABC. I had heard a lot of great things about this show, and it did not disappoint. If you haven’t watched it yet, get thyself over to ABC.COM and start. The storyline is fabulous.

5. I also watched my first episode of The Office. Yes. I did. I started with the wedding. When I twittered that I hadn’t seen any episodes, many people replied that I should start at the beginning. But I just had to see the wedding after so many people were commenting and sparking my interest in quotes and videos and thoughts of the episode. [anyone who says that twitter is a bad form of advertising is just silly. It works.]

6. Last week, I got a fabulous new water bottle in the mail from my dear friend LAURA. ANDI LOVE IT. It is a Nathan bottle and it is wonderful. It has a straw- for some reason I’ve never used a water bottle with a straw- how FOOLISH of me! It’s so much easier for me to stay hydrated through out the day with this thing. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner. THANK YOU, LAURA.

7. Last night I made 2 butternut squash sides for dinner. I kind of failed one and aced another. First the “fail”, I tried making Butternut Fries. These were so easy, and so good. But I wasn’t keeping a very close eye on the fries as they were in the oven, and so about one half of them were a little too browned & crispy [burned] for my liking. But the other half were really yummy. Like sweet potato fries, only better. Next time I will definitely ACE this.

It’s simple: Preheat to 425. Peel your butternut squash. Cut in half. De-Seed the squash. Cut into fry shaped pieces. Put on a lightly greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until lightly brown. Yummers.

8. I also made mashed Butternut Squash. Again, so easy and so good. I roasted my squash first, rather than boiled it. Roasting brings out the natural sweetness in a vegetable, fruit or even meat.

Here’s how: Preheat to 400. Peel your butternut squash. Cut in half. De-Seed. Place in baking dish (I used pyrex). Salt & Pepper. Dot with butter. Add water to the pan so there is about a quarter of an inch. Cover with aluminum foil. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly. Put squash in dish and mash. Enjoy!

9. Every time I hear the song Hotel California I think about Rock Band. Yes, I’m serious.

10. There is still time: The Super Internet Soup Swap still needs entries. Send your favorite soup recipe to me at mooreshugar@gmail.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    October 13, 2009 2:24 pm

    Ok, so you have to give me your mom's chili recipe so that I can swap it. Because I am pretty sure chili qualifies as soup. Not to mention it is INCREDIBLE!

Leave a Reply

