Skip to content

Super Internet Soup Swap 2009: Featured Recipe Numero Uno

October 5, 2009
tags: ,

Let me start out by saying that I am so very excited about the SISS [Super Internet Soup Swap.] I’ve been hemming and hawing over what kind of ingredients I am going to experiment with as I try creating my own soup recipe I hope takes over the world far faster than when Crocs came to town.

You know what I’m talking about; when you first saw someone at the mall, no doubt, walking around in the plastic, non-slip, apparently-“comfortable”-but-really- how-comfortable-can-a-pair-of-plastic-slippers-really-be, defiantly-unattractive-yet-still-made-you-go-“Hmmm”, unfancy footwear you may have shuddered, and went on your way- but then it happened. Soon, they were EVERYWHERE; Crocs had taken over the world!

This Soup of Wonders I have been brainstorming over is going to do the same. [or something.]

Ok- enough about my dreams of conquering the world by way of warm liquid dish. It’s time to deliver the first soup of the swap!

This soup recipe comes from one of very best friends, Bridget. Bridget and I met back in 2001 when we both started our college careers at Edgewood College and became fast friends. Our friendship grew stronger as years (and distance between us) grew, and I am so thankful to have her in my life. She is such a source of joy for me, and never ceases to make me laugh, and remember our times together fondly. I love you lots & miss you masses, Bridge-O!

Bonita Bridget’s Mexican Chicken Soup [Bonus – It is a crock pot recipe!]

1½ lb chicken breast, cubed
2 tsp canola oil
½ cup water
1 envelope taco seasoning
1 32 oz can V8 juice
1 16 oz jar salsa
1 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 10 oz pkg frozen corn, thawed
Topping suggestions: shredded chedder cheese, sour cream & tortilla chips.

1. In a large, nonstick skillet sauté chicken in oil until no longer pink.
2. Add water and taco seasoning; simmer until chicken is well coated.
3. Transfer to a slow cooker and add V8, salsa, beans and corn; mix well.
4. Cover and cook on low for 5-7 hours or high for 3-4 hours or until well heated through.

Serve with cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips.

I love love LOVE easy recipes like this- and I’m looking forward to having an opportunity to make it. The only changes I plan on making, of course, are getting low sodium taco seasoning and V8: But wouldn’t it be fun to make this with Tofu, Veggie Crumbles, or just extra beans for a vegetarian take on the soup?

I’m thinking this recipe has inspired me to have a Happy Hour Fiesta in few weeks with some friends from work. How fun would this soup be served mini-style with chips & salsa, tiny burritos, and lots of Margaritas? Of course, I will be sporting a sombrero for sure- Then Heather said, “Ole!”

Don’t forget to email me YOUR Super Internet Soup Swap recipe at mooreshugar@gmail.com!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs. Prissy Pants permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:26 pm

    Hey. I have a new blog account but for whatever reason it won't show my picture and I'm not even sure it sgows up that I'm following you? Anyway..gonna try Bridget's soup this week and send you my taco soup recipe asap.

  2. Lindsey @ Sound Eats permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:01 am

    I love using V8 as a base for soups to add a lot of extra flavor (and nutrients!). Great minds think alike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

