Skip to content

At Least I Wasn’t Wearing Tights

October 1, 2009

Being October first, I must say a VERY Happy Birthday to the best friend a girl could ask for, Danielle Lyn, who will be here to visit in just two short weeks! HOORAY! Much Love from New York, my dear! xoxox

Being October first, last night I slept with five blankets, my heavy sweatpants over shorts, and a tanktop-teeshirt-longsleevedtee combo, and two pairs of socks.

And, being October first, when I woke up this morning, I had to give myself a SERIOUS pep-talk about the merits of getting my butt out of bed and into the shower. [Merit #1- keeping my job. Merit #2 – coffee. Merit #3- keeping my job. I’m just saying.]

And, being October first, I finally settled on the black cow-neck sweater dress that I’ve tried on five times since August, but argued every time that it was not time for a sweater dress.

And, being October first, instead of rocking leggings or tights with heels or high boots, I chose jeans and black flats, circa, you know, 2004.

 And, being October first, when I was leaving for work this morning, I put on my red puffy coat. [imagine my surprise when I felt like it was swallowing me. Apparently my losing 20+ pounds since last fall has had an effect on my outerwear.]

So, because I was wearing my red puffy, now too large for me, coat to work this morning, and, of course, being October first, I took out the coat rack.

We have a coat rack for the lobby area at work, but it’s not really pretty- more industrial looking, and we hide it during the warm months because there is no reason for anyone to really use it.  And if a guest does come into the building and needs a place to hang their suit jacket or windbreaker, I am more than willing to become temporary “coat girl” and walk it back into the storage-ish side room of my “office” [aka: reception area/lobby].

So today, I took the coat rack out and put it in the proper place. Which, if I am facing the window/computer/entrance, would be behind me to my left.  Out of my view. Unless I turn my head ever so slightly to the left. [do you see where this is going?]  After hanging my coat, my “incase I’m forgetful” cardigan, and a co-workers hardhat, I went about my day.

A few stats for you:

number of times today I have thought the coat rack was a person:  14.
number of times I thought so to the point of jumping in startledness: 3
number of times I jumped from startledness, bumped elbow into desk, and fell off my stool, landing on the floor: just the once. 


bet you’re sad you missed that one.

Apparently, although I have been noticing during my stretching that running and even perhaps my pretending-to-know-what-I’m-doing-at-home-yoga-sessions are making me more flexible, it’s done very little for my clumsiness. Shocking, I know.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. LLB permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:45 pm

    hahahahah this was a very wonderful blog. oh coat rack.

  2. Kati permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:12 pm

    i'm sad you were part of an isolated time period called edgewood and didn't get to meet my former roommate anna, who i met after the edgewood period. you and her are so talented at making objects and and mundane events super entertaining. i often wonder what it would be like if you two met.

  3. Stefanie permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:48 am

    I literally just laughed out loud! You are too cute. Of course I am not happy that you bumped your elbow and fell off the stool, but it was entertaining. I hope today the coat rack gets less scary 🙂

  4. Danielle Lyn permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:58 pm

    Thank you dear!Sorry about the scary coat rack 🙂

  5. Kait permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:52 pm

    HAHA. That is too cute! (I have had to remove coat racks from my bedroom because of their absolute creepiness.)

  6. Mary permalink
    October 5, 2009 6:10 pm

    I love this post. and I love your clumsiness (because, you know, I too am quite clumsy.) I love you and HOORAY for October!

Trackbacks

  1. The Perfect Start « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

