Skip to content

Being Present

December 1, 2010

This morning while  journaling, I started to think about the goals I will set for 2011.  As I scribbled down a rough draft list of things to accomplish next year, I realized that I was bypassing December.  I had leaped right over the 12th month, looking into the future.

Reflecting, I made a decision to be present this month.  To focus on what I am doing, to think about now, and not only then.  I want to be aware of each day, so that the time doesn’t pass me by and I find myself saying “It’s January 1, already!?!?” as  I seem to hear myself say at the beginning of each month.  I think being present is going to be filled with joy and celebration - and that’s alright with me!

This December is different than any December before.  This is the first December I will not be going home to Mom and Dad’s house for Christmas vacation.  This December is Christmas shopping free.  This December I will not leave cookies for Santa or carrots for the reindeer.  This December old traditions will be missed. This December is full of new adventures, just waiting to happen. This December I will be present; I will be aware.

P.S. Happy start of Hanukkah.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 10:45 am

    ah, this is EXACTLY what I have been saying the past couple days – to just BE PRESENT, to enjoy and celebrate all the friends who invite me to holiday events. :D

  2. December 1, 2010 12:35 pm

    Everyone should read this post! I think it’s so important to be present everyday. It helps eliminate worry and stress about things that are out of control…and focus on exactly what’s happening right now. :)

    Happy December!

  3. Andrea permalink
    December 1, 2010 6:07 pm

    Wow, this is so awesome. Rings true for me- it’s so easy to get lost in doing doing doing that you forget to “be.”

  4. December 1, 2010 6:45 pm

    Good point- I think the reason the holidays always pass so quickly for me is because I live in anticipation rather than focusing on the present. Thanks for this post!

  5. wkualum98 permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the reminder to live IN the moment. Not looking forward or backwards at other moments. THIS is the moment that matters right now. I need to work on this — big time!

  6. gramshugs permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:33 pm

    Heather you are the PRESENT – you are truly a gift from God…to live in the present is throughly wonderful…live for each day…but…don’t forget the day before today…it’s the day we made the mistakes and learned how to live TODAY !!!!

  7. December 1, 2010 8:58 pm

    It’s so hard to remember to be present sometimes. We really have to remind ourselves! I always tell myself this “Paige, whatever you are doing, do it 100%” – even if it’s something as simple as driving to the store. It keeps my mind in the present moment :)

Trackbacks

  1. Caroling, caroling, through the snow… « Respectfully Captivating

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

